Now Reading
Kangana Ranaut Wins Best Actress Honor for ‘Manikarnika’ and ‘Panga’ at India’s 67th National Film Awards

Kangana Ranaut Wins Best Actress Honor for ‘Manikarnika’ and ‘Panga’ at India’s 67th National Film Awards

  • Manoj Bajpayee and Dhanush Share Best Actor award, while Rajnikanth is felicitated with 51st Dadasaheb Phalke Award, India's highest film honor.

After delays due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the 67th National Film Awards were held in New Delhi at the Vigyan Bhawan on Oct. 25. Considered one of the most prestigious film achievements in India, the awards were presented by Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu to the best talent in Indian cinema. The awards were announced on March 22 to honor the best Indian films certified in India between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2019.

Kangana Ranaut received the award for best actress for “Manikarnika” and “Panga,” while Manoj Bajpayee and Dhanush took home the best actor award for “Bhosle” and ‘Asuran,” respectively. 

Dhanush’s father-in-law, superstar Ranjinikath received the 51st Dadasaheb Phalke Award, India’s highest film honor. The superstar, who used to work as a bus conductor before entering the film industry, dedicated the award to P. Raj Bahadur, his old bus driver friend, who suggested that he join films. He also dedicated his award to late filmmaker K. Balachander, who directed Rajinikanth’s first film “Apoorva Raagangal,” his brother Sathyanarayana Rao and his “directors, producers, theater owners, technicians and fans.”

Dressed in a traditional sari, Ranaut attended the awards ceremony with her parents. “We all grow up with a deep desire to be worthy of our parents love, care and sacrifices,” the “Thalaivi” actress wrote in a Facebook post. “After all the troubles I gave my mummy papa such days make up for all those mischiefs. Thank you for being my Mummy Papa I would not want it any other way.” 

This is Ranaut’s fourth National Award. She previously won the Best Supporting Actress award for her role in “Fashion” and Best Actress award for “Queen” and “Tanu Weds Manu Returns.”

Before the awards ceremony, Ranaut shared her photos on her social media handles and wrote: “All set to receive the highest honor for an artist in the country today ….. National Award. This is my fourth National Award. Today I am receiving a joint National Award for two of my performances ….. Manikarnika – The Queen of Jhansi (2019) & Panga (2020) I also co directed Manikarnika – The Queen of Jhansi. Immense gratitude for the teams of these films.”

She also shared her photos with Rajinikanth with the caption: “Thalaivi meets Thalaiva.”

Rajinikanth’s daughter Aishwaryaa R Dhanush took to her Instagram to celebrate the wins of her husband and father. She posted a photo of both the men of her house holding their medals.”They are mine… and this is history.” This is the first time that two awards have gone to the same family. 

Her husband also took to Instagram to celebrate the win. “To win a national award for best actor on the same stage where my Thalaivar was winning the prestigious Dada Saheb Phalke award was just indescribable. Thank you to the National award jury for bestowing me with this honor. Also Thank you to the press and media for your constant support.”

The National Award for Best Hindi Feature Film was given to Nitesh Tiwari’s “Chhichhore,” starring late actor Sushant Singh Rajput. The team celebrated the win and dedicated the award to Rajput, who died in 2020. Later in the day, Sushant Singh Rajput’s sister Shweta Singh Kirti reacted to the film’s win.“Bhai is sharing this moment of pride with all of us, he is present with us in spirit.”

Complete list of winners: 


Best Feature Film: “Marakkar Arabikadalinte Simham” (Malayalam)

Best Direction: Bahattar Hoorain

Best Actress: Kangana Ranaut (“Manikarnika,” “Panga”)

Best Actor: Manoj Bajpayee for “Bhonsle” and Dhanush for “Asuran”

Best Supporting Actress: “The Tashkent Files,” Pallavi Joshi

Best Supporting Actor: “Super Deluxe,” Vijaya Sethupathi

Best Children Film: “Kastoori” (Hindi)

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of Director: “Helen” (Malayalam)

Special Mention: “Biryani” (Malayalam), “Jonaki Porua” (Assamese), “Lata Bhagwan Kare” (Marathi), “Picasso” (Marathi)

Best Tulu Film: “Pingara”

Best Paniya Film: “Kenjira”

Best Mishing Film: “Anu Ruwad”

Best Khasi Film: “Lewduh”

Best Haryanvi Film: “Chhoriyan Chhoron Se Kam Nahi Hoti”

Best Chattisgarhi Film:” Bhulan The Maze”

Best Telugu Film: “Jersey”

Best Tamil Film: “Asuran”

Best Punjabi Film: “Rab Da Radio 2”

Best Odiya Film: “Sala Budhar Badla and Kalira Atita”

Best Manipuri Film: “Eigi Kona”

Best Malayalam Film: “Kalla Nottam”

Best Marathi Film: “Bardo”

Best Konkani Film: “Kaajro”

Best Kannada Film: “Akshi”

Best Hindi Film: “Chhichhore”

Best Bengali Film: “Gumnaami”

Best Assamese Film: “Ronuwa- Who Never Surrender”

Best Stunt: “Avane Srimannarayana” (Kannada)

Best Choreography: “Maharshi” (Telugu)

Best Special Effects: “Marakkar Arabikadalinte Simham “(Malayalam)

Special Jury Award: “Oththa Seruppu Size-7” (Tamil)

Best Lyrics: “Kolaambi” (Malayalam)

Best Music Direction Songs: “Viswasam” (Tamil)

Music Direction: “Jyeshthoputro” (Bengali)

Best Make-Up Artist: Helen

Best Production Design: Anandi Gopal

Best Editing: “Jersey” (Telugu)

Best Audiography: Lewduh (Khasi)

Best Screenplay Original Screenplay: “Jyeshthoputri”

Best Adapted Screenplay: “Gumnaami”

Best Dialogue Writer: “The Tashkent Files” (Hindi)

Best Cinematography: “Jallikattu” (Malayalam)

Best Female Playback Singer: “Bardo” (Marathi)

See Also

Best Male Playback Singer: “Kesri,” “Teri Mitti” (Hindi)

Best Film on Environment Conservation: “Water Burial”

Most Film-Friendly State: Sikkim

Best Book on Cinema: “A Gandhian Affair: India’s Curious Portrayal of Love in Cinema” by Sanjay Suri

Special mention- “Cinema Paharana Manus” written by Ashok Rane and “Kannada Cinema: Jagathika Cinema Vikasa-Prerane Prabhava” written by PR Ramadasa Naidu.

Best Film Critic: Sohini Chattopadhyay


Best Narration: “Wild Karnataka,” Sir David Attenborough

Best Editing: “Shut Up Sona,” Arjun Gourisaria

Best Audiography: “Radha” (Musical), Allwin Rego and Sanjay Maurya

Best On-Location Sound Recordist: Rahas (Hindi), Saptarshi Sarkar

Best Cinematography: Sonsi, Savita Singh

Best Direction: “Knock Knock Knock” (English/Bengali), “Sudhanshu Saria”

Best Film on Family Values: “Oru Paathiraa Swapnam Pole” (Malayalam)

Best Short Fiction Film: “Custody” (Hindi/English)

Special Jury Award: “Small Scale Societies” (English)

Best Animation Film: “Radha “(Musical)

Best Investigative Film: “Jakkal”

Best Exploration Film: “Wild Karnataka” (English)

Best Education Film: “Apples and Oranges” (English)

Best Film on Social Issues: “Holy Rights” (Hindi) and “Ladli “(Hindi)

Best Environment Film: “The Stork Saviours” (Hindi)

Best Promotional Film: “The Shower” (Hindi)

Best Art and Culture Film: Shrikshetra-Ru-Sahijata (Odia)

Best Biographical Film: “Elephants Do Remember” (English)

Best Ethnographic Film: “Charan-Atva The Essence of Being a Nomad” (Gujarati)

Best Debut Non-Feature Film of a Director: “Khisa” (Marathi)

Best Non-Feature Film: “An Engineered Dream” (Hindi)

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

© 2020 American Kahani LLC. All rights reserved.

The viewpoints expressed by the authors do not necessarily reflect the opinions, viewpoints and editorial policies of American Kahani.
Scroll To Top