Now Reading
Crème de la Crème: Several Indian Americans Among This Year’s U.S. Presidential Scholars

Crème de la Crème: Several Indian Americans Among This Year’s U.S. Presidential Scholars

  • The program was established in 1964 to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors.

Several Indian Americans are among this year’s Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students. The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the president, to recognize and honor some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. 

In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named scholars.

Indian American scholars include:

See Also

Manav Aggarwal, Huntsville, Alabama, Randolph School; Sruti Peddi, Fountain Hills, Arizona, BASIS Scottsdale Charter; Ananya Uddanti, Little Rock, Arkansas, Central High School; Siddharth R. Nareddy, Westminster, Colorado, Peak to Peak Charter School; Amanrai S. Kahlon, Hockessin, Delaware, Sanford School; Keya Krishna, Washington, D.C., Sidwell Friends School; Sharanya Chatterjee, Orlando, Florida, Freedom High School, Vineeth Sendilraj, Suwanee, Georgia; Lambert High School; Pradyumn M. Bonu, Buffalo Grove, Illinois, Adlai E. Stevenson High School and Sai Peddainti, Naperville, Illinois, Waubonsie Valley High School; Ayaan Parikh, Wichita, Kansas, Wichita Collegiate School and Paranjay Sharma, Leawood, Kansas, The Barstow School; Minaal A. Khwaja, Salisbury, Maryland, Wicomico High School; Radhika Heda, Lexington, Massachusetts, Lexington High School; Anish Jain, Auburn Hills, Michigan, Avondale Senior High School; Aanya Shah, Troy, Michigan, Troy High School; Shubha Gautam, Columbia, Missouri; Columbia, Rock Bridge Senior High School; Santosh Manikandan, Wentzville, Missouri, Liberty High School; Deetya B. Nagri, Nashua, New Hampshire, Nashua Senior High School South; Prayag J. Patel, Auburn , New Hampshire, The Derryfield School; Pranav Sitaraman, Edison, New Jersey, Middlesex County Academy for Science Math & Engineering; Dishita Agarwal, Greensboro, North Carolina, The Early College at Guilford; Prithvi Vijay Narayanan, State College, Pennsylvania, State College Area High School; Aneri Shethji, Sewickley, Pennsylvania, North Allegheny Senior High; Raaga Kodali, Ashburn, Virginia, Briar Woods High School; Sriya Yalamanchili, Sterling, Virginia, Academies of Loudoun; Ashwin Joshi, Kennewick, Washington, Southridge High School; Siddhartha Dylan Pant, Lakewood, Washington, Lakes High School; Kosha Upadhyay, Bellevue, WashingtonBellevue Senior High School; Amisha Sao, Cedar Park, Texas, Round Rock High School. 

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

© 2020 American Kahani LLC. All rights reserved.

The viewpoints expressed by the authors do not necessarily reflect the opinions, viewpoints and editorial policies of American Kahani.
Scroll To Top