Now Reading
Many Indian American High School Students Among 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars

Many Indian American High School Students Among 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars

  • They are among 161 high schoolers named to the 57th class "representing extraordinary achievements for our extraordinary times"

Several Indian American high school students are among the 161 named to the 57th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars, announced by U.S. Secretary of Education Dr. Miguel Cardona on May 13. “The 2021 Presidential Scholars represent extraordinary achievements for our extraordinary times,” said Cardona in a press release by the U.S. Department of Education. “I am delighted to join President Biden in saluting these outstanding young people for their achievements, service, character and continued pursuit of excellence. Their examples make me proud and hopeful about the future. Honoring them can remind us all of the great potential in each new generation and renew our commitment to helping them achieve their dreams.”

Jewel Malone, executive director of National YoungArts Foundation, said to PRNewswire, “We are thrilled to celebrate the 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts who are among the leading young artists in the nation across the visual, literary and performing arts. These artists bring fresh voices, perspectives and talents to all that they do, and we look forward to continuing to support them throughout their careers and lives in the arts.”

The public will have the opportunity to experience the extraordinary artistry of these scholars in the Arts in June, during a virtual performance event directed by Tony Award-nominated director, musician and actor Michael Arden (2001 YoungArts Winner in Theater and Voice & U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts). Further details to be announced soon.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals. Of the 3.6 million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 6,000 candidates qualified for the 2021 awards determined by outstanding performance on the College Board SAT or ACT exams or through nominations made by Chief State School Officers, other partner recognition organizations and the National YoungArts Foundation’s nationwide YoungArts program. 

As directed by Presidential Executive Order, the 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars are comprised of one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large, 20 Scholars in the arts and 20 Scholars in career and technical education. 

Created in 1964, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program has honored over 7,600 of the nation’s top-performing students. The program was expanded in 1979 to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, literary and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.The Presidential Scholars Class of 2021 will be recognized for their outstanding achievement this summer.

Indian American scholars include: 

The 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts

Viraj  Mehta, Scottsdale — BASIS Scottsdale Charter; and Suhani  Patel, Peoria – Mountain Ridge High School (Scholar in Career and Technical Education)

Eshani  Jha, San Jose —- Lynbrook High School; Arya  Pratap, Fremont – Saint Francis High School (Scholar in Arts); and Diya Sarah Theodore, Riverside – Redlands High School.


Rohan P Kanchana, Hockessin — Newark Charter Junior/Senior High School (Scholar in Career and Technical Education); Risha  Kumar, Wilmington — Cab Calloway School of the Arts High School; Divita  Taduvayi, Bear — MOT Charter High School (Scholar in Career and Technical Education).

Rohan R Davidi, Tallahassee — James S. Rickards High School.

Divya  Nori, Roswell — Milton High School.

Pavan Venkatesh Pandurangi, Palatine — William Fremd High School.

Khushi  Kohli, Overland Park — Olathe North High School; and Aishani  Saxena, Stilwell – Blue Valley West High School

Saanika  Mahashetty, Boyds — Richard Montgomery High School; Sahil  Patel, Waldorf — North Point High School (Scholar in Career and Technical Education); and Avinash J. Thakkar, Rosedale — Mcdonogh School. 

Ritvik Chandra Pulya, Acton — Acton-Boxborough Regional High School.

Saaim Ali Khan, Troy — Cranbrook Kingswood Upper School; Shriya  Reddy, Northville — Northville High School; and Shriya S Yarlagadda, Grand Blanc — Grand Blanc Community School.

Janvi  Huria, Chesterfield — Marquette High School; Sri  Jaladi, Creve Coeur — Parkway West High School; and Rohith K Ryali, Ballwin — Lafayette High School.

Ramya  Iyer, Omaha — Westside High School (Scholar in Arts); and Trishna Aishani Srikumar, Elkhorn — Brownell-Talbot School.

See Also

Priyanka  Senthil, Reno — Davidson Academy of Nevada.

New Hampshire
Fahim  Ahmed, Goffstown — Goffstown Area High School.

New Jersey
Youssef  Abdelhalim, Hillsborough — Hillsborough High School; and Akhil C Paulraj, Plainsboro – West Windsor-Plainsboro High School North.

New York
Shubh  Khanna, New York — Hunter College High School

North Carolina
Nrithya P Renganathan, Cary — The North Carolina School of Science & Mathematics; and Pratyush  Seshadri, Cary — Raleigh Charter High School.

Sneha Sunil Shenoy, Spring — Klein High School.

Mahider  Tadesse, Salt Lake City — East High School.

Shreya  Somayajula, Ashburn — Stone Bridge High School.

Neil Sai Dogra, Mequon — University School of Milwaukee. 

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

© 2020 American Kahani LLC. All rights reserved.

The viewpoints expressed by the authors do not necessarily reflect the opinions, viewpoints and editorial policies of American Kahani.
Scroll To Top